Did you know in the middle of the 19th century, San Juan was divided into four neighborhoods: Barrio de Santo Domingo to the northwest; Santa Bárbara or La Meseta to the northeast, formed between 1764 and 1765; San Juan or the Fortress to the southwest and San Francisco to the southeast. Between 1847 and 1853 Ballajá is incorporated as the fifth neighborhood of the City.