On 10th of April 2018, 21 Member States and Norway agreed to sign a Declaration creating the European Blockchain Partnership (EBP) and cooperate in the establishment of a European Blockchain Services Infrastructure (EBSI) that will support the delivery of cross-border digital public services, with the highest standards of security and privacy. Since then, 4 more Member States have joined the Partnership, bringing the total number of signatories to 26.

Blockchain is a technology for promoting user trust. It makes it possible to share on-line information, agree on and record transactions in a verifiable, secure and permanent way. The technology is already being successfully tested, mostly in financial services, and will become more operational and integrated into increasing number of digital services, such as regulatory reporting, energy and logistics in the coming years.

The decentralised and collaborative nature of blockchain and its applications allows exploiting the full scale of the Digital Single Market from the outset. Close cooperation between Member States can help avoiding fragmented approaches and can ensure interoperability and wider deployment of blockchain-based services. The Partnership will contribute to the creation of an enabling environment, in full compliance with EU laws and with clear governance models that will help services using blockchain flourish across Europe.

The European Commission also launched the EU Blockchain Observatory and Forum in February 2018 and has already invested more than EUR 80 million in projects supporting the use of blockchain in technical and societal areas. Around EUR 300 million more are to be allocated to blockchain by 2020.

The Blockchain partnership declaration was launched at the Digital Day 2018, and was signed by twenty-one EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, UK.

Other countries have joined since the launch of the initiative:

  • Greece signed on 23 May 2018.
  • Romania signed on 29 May 2018.
  • Denmark signed on 1st of June
  • Cyprus signed on 4th of June

The European Commission encourages other countries from the EU and the European Economic Area to join the blockchain partnership. Norway joined the Blockchain partnership declaration in April.

Source: Digital Single Market